Client reviews

CLIENT-REVIEWS-NAMIBIA.png
Browse through recent reviews from our clients
Absolutely amazing Namibia/ Botswana safari adventure.
Karen J – August 2019
We’ve just finished a 15 day Namibia / Botswana Safari, ending with a visit to Victoria Falls and it was amazing! Our guide Marc Cronje, with his vast knowledge and experience, made every sighting exciting, no matter what we were looking at, and got us some exceptional (and sometimes unexpected) spectacles, including Honey Badgers digging for food whilst a number of Pale Chanting Goshawks stood by waiting to steal their prey and a family of Bat-eared foxes roaming around under the early evening sun. Marc worked tirelessly throughout the trip, his enthusiasm never waning, nothing was too much trouble, a thoughtful and caring guide. NTN organised beautiful lodges and accommodation, a surprise highlight being 2 days camping which we would definitely do again. To say we had a great time was an understatement, we are already thinking about saving for our next trip with them!
Lucas – July 2019
Me and my boyfriend had never gone to Namibia or any other country in the southern part of Africa. We were a little bit worried, specially about hiring an agency we had never used before (not even heard about, as in Brazil people don’t usually go to African countries other than South Africa). However, since the beginning of our contact with Nature Travel (many thanks here to San-Mari, who was always kind and helpful), we were very well supported in every single thing we asked: general overview of the places we would visit, details about other options, how much time to spend, price targets, etc.

One of the most amazing things about Nature Travel was that, even though the trip was being planned for us, when we had an idea that didn’t seem very well for them (fox example: too much time in a place, too many distant places, etc.), they would tell us the truth and argue with us (in a nice manner, obviously) why we shouldn’t do that. They really cared about what would be best for us! With all that being said, we cannot say another thing than that we had a wonderful time in Namibia: it was certainly a trip that we’ll never forget. We would like to thank the whole Nature Travel team for their assistance, specially San Mari and Marius. The latter was our guide throughout our trip and we REALLY had a wonderful time with him. All his knowledge, kindness, professionalism and good humor contributed a lot to make our trip as incredibly unforgettable as it was. He was always trying to read what would be best for us. We could see that the thing he wanted the most was to give us the best experience possible. We will definitely continue planning trips with Nature Travel and recommend them to all our friend and family!!

One of our best journeys EVER!
Robert and Esther – June 2019
All trips all multifaceted and rarely does everything goes right. However, somehow Nature Travel Namibia manages to provide a service that is flawless and beyond memorable. Their selection of accommodation was superb, their suggestions for itinerary were excellent, their attention to detail unequal, and when there were issues beyond their control, they made every effort to resolve them expeditiously. This has been one of the best trips of our lives. We were five people on a self-drive but the support from Nature Travel Namibia was always there. Namibia itself is amazing, for the range and scope of experience, from landscape to safari, cuisine, and some of the most gentle and hospitable people you will meet anywhere. And the example of racial harmony in Namibia is inspiring to see and provides a lesson for all of us and a beacon for Africa. Without doubt we will return and it will be with Nature Travel Namibia.
Geoff W – April 2019
Our private tour took us through astounding desert scenery, to the tops of unimaginable dunes and to sightings of incredible wildlife at fabulous watering holes. We started with a visit to the incredible dunes of Sossusvlei. Our guide Charl ensured we got to them in time to photograph them in the best morning light possible. Climbing to the top was a wonderful experience as was wandering among the 900 year old trees on the salt flat. From there it was off to Swakopmund and a safari to look for the little five in the adjacent Namibia Desert. Our local guide Chantal, was amazing with her knowledge and ability to track the tiny creatures – from the Sidewinder snake to the Palmetto lizard. Our flight, arranged for by Nick, over the Namib Desert was truly amazing. To see the dunes from the air reinforced our great decision to have seen and climbed them. The final part of our experience with Charl and Nature Travel Namibia was the safari in Etosha Park. We saw an amazing array of animals – from lions and elephants at a watering hole to an impala staring down and challenging a leopard to chase him. The leopard didn’t! We enjoyed mostly excellent accommodation throughout the trip along with very good meals. Charl was an incredible wealth of knowledge and willingly shared that knowledge. We all felt very comfortable and safe while he was driving – which was quite a lot. The distances we had to travel over gravel roads was the only downside, although unavoidable, of the trip. Thanks again for a terrific trip. We can’t recommend Nick, Charl and Nature Travel Namibia enough.
Namibia Endemics Birding Tour
Having birded around the world I can confidently say that Nature Travel Namibia put together one of the best safaris I have ever enjoyed. Everything was perfect – the pre-trip information, the organization, the quality of the accommodation and food, but most of all the professionalism and friendliness of the guide Marc who managed to find nearly every one of the specials that I’d gone to see. Will definitely use them again.
“A fantastic introduction to Namibia”
Raji- April 2019
My husband and I went on a 12 day tour of Namibia covering Erindi private game reserve, Etosha, Damaraland, Swakopmund and Sossusvlei. From the start, I was impressed with the professionalism and responsiveness of our contact San-Mari. The trip was a fantastic introduction to Namibia especially due to our guide, Lucky who was knowledgeable, resourceful and friendly. He made the trip a memorable one for us. We will definitely go back to Namibia with NTN again.
“More than a Safari!”
Heather- Canada: February 2019
Nature Travel Namibia was very fast and responsive to any questions we had.
We had a wonderful guide and driver named Previous. He had 15 years experience guiding in Namibia and 2 years in Etosha game park. He also has a degree in wildlife management and is a big birder! He was also a lot of fun! We had our own 4×4 with AC and did the 8 day Classic.
We have lived in Africa and been on many safaris but this one was special. We had not been to Namibia before and so depended on NTN for advice. They suggested the big red sand dunes of Sussevlei, which were an amazing sight. We went early in the morning to climb one at sunrise. We stayed in beautiful game lodges. Then we drove to the Atlantic coast and saw shipwrecks, seals and rock carvings. We went on a desert tour of the little five which was so fun!
The tour ended with 3 days in Etosha game park. Because Previous had worked there he knew all the spots to go to and where the animals would be. People say you can self drive and you can but we would not have seen or understood what we saw. we also had a flat tire which he fixed. we saw others stuck in the sand. Did you know you have to let the tire pressure out in sand? Nope? Me either.
We highly recommend Nature Travel Namibia!
“Excellent service from start to finish”
M Stanley: February 2019
From the moment I first made the enquiry with Nature Travel Namibia, nothing was too much trouble. I think we revised our itinerary about 6 times but Esmari was happy to accommodate and advise on destinations and activities. We also kept them waiting until the last minute to confirm such are the vagaries of our situation with staff travel but regardless we got exactly the holiday we wanted. Jakes was our travel guide for the 2 weeks and was totally fantastic. When we travelled around Etosha he was a mine of knowledge on the birds and animals and able to spot them at 100 meters – without Jakes I don’t think we would have seen half of what we did given the time of year and vegetation.
I can’t recommend Nature Travel Namibia enough.
Namibia, Botswana and Zambia Birding Safari
Liz – November 2018
Nick takes care of every angle of a birding safari from the areas visited to the lodges we stayed in.
Nick communicated by email and sent an itinerary of the places we would visit and the lodges we would stay in. (That way we could look up the lodges ahead of time). I had birded with Nick before so I knew he would take care of all the details. The lodges were great-usually by a river or waterhole.
I was very excited when one night a hippo came up beside our tent to eat!
Nick will stop whenever you want to take pictures. That was great. Everybody had a window seat as he only takes six people on a tour.
Everything was great.
“Amazing experience and service”
Mary – 22 September 2018
We had a wonderful time. The entire trip was very enjoyable and interesting. Namibia is a stunning place, Lucky was a fantastic guide; very knowledgeable, an amazing spotter of all types of animals and great company.
We were particularly grateful because SAA caused a missed connection at Johannesburg and our rebooked flight the next morning was cancelled. Nature Namibia’s communication with us throughout, not only this setback but from start to finish was excellent and Lucky went above and beyond what could reasonably be expected when we finally arrived, by driving late into the night to get us to our first destination to try and get us back on track with our safari – excellent service, thank you.
“Classic Namibia Safari”
Joe Poon – September 2018
Our representative from Nature Travel Namibia (hereafter NTN) is excellently professional. She continuously communicates with us on refining the itinerary and bookings, at the same time arrange our places of visits according to the tightly available lodges. Even during our trip when she is away on annual leave, another representative was assigned to us so we can contact her any time for any questions. 5-star service.
Lodges choices are marvellous too. Except due to very limited availability for all other lodges for one particular night, all lodges we stayed were specially themed with well equipped facilities and delicious food. Even on that particular night when we stay in a simple camp, it was also a valuable experience. As it was our honeymoon trip, NTN has informed all the lodges and tour operators and each and every single one of them have prepared special arrangements to help us celebrate this special occasion.
Vehicle they provided us function very well too. A manual 4X4 that can go through all kinds of road condition in Namibia, with only 3000+ km usage, I practically doubled it after the trip. A little problem is with the GPS, which directed us twice away from main road but through non-existing routes through the wild, but at least we were able to continue.
I definitely recommend NTN to anyone who are considering travel to Namibia, you won’t regret engaging them.
“Utterly fabulous trip!”
Anna – September 2018
I expected to love traveling in Namibia, but our 9-day tour with Nature Travel totally surpassed my expectations! Namibia is stunningly gorgeous and I can imagine no better way to experience the country than the trip that Nature Travel prepared for us. We went to all the spots a first-time visitor would want to see from the red dunes in Sossusvlei, to Swakopmund, to Etosha with many stops in between. The lodges were all lovely and the countryside you drive through is unending beauty. But what made the trip so special was having the best guide imaginable–Previous Tsvigu. Not only had he spent years working in the parks and in conservation, but he is also a passionate birder. So he knew the birds and animals in a way that brought the experience to life. He could easily identify all the birds we encountered, and had an incredible eye for spotting them. In Etosha, his intimate knowledge of the animals and their habits helped him to predict where they would be and when they would move, so he was able to place us in the best spots for viewing them. He was also deeply knowledgeable about Namibian history and culture and always generous with his knowledge. And he had a ready smile and laugh. We would not have seen half so much without him, even visiting the same places.
From initial contact and trip preparations through to the day we left, Nature Travel could not have been more attentive and professional. Thank you for an utterly fabulous trip!
Lawrence B – August 2018
They are excellent to work with and I can’t wait to use them again.
Nick Buys and his colleagues were extremely attentive to all of my requests and they put together a 3 week Luxury multi-country Safari that became an unforgettable experience. They were consistently flexible and accommodated all of my last minute requests and changes. They were also excellent at troubleshooting and solving problems as they arose. This was my 5th trip to Africa and Nature Travel is, by far, the best Travel Guide I have ever worked with. I will certainly use them again in the future.
Christopher Sexon – July 2018
From the start to the end we were given outstanding service.
I have just returned from a two week self drive Safari in Namibia along with some friends which was organised by Esmari at Nature Travel Namibia. What an incredible experience! Our accommodation was outstanding, the food excellent and the vehicle we were given brilliant. The trip exceeded our expectations and I cannot recommend the company highly enough. Simply brilliant!
“Safaris in Botswana and Namibi”
Susan and Mark A. – June 2018
We had the delightful experience of booking 2 separate safaris with Nature Travel Namibia. We spent 6 days in Botswana and a week in Namibia.The trip was almost seamless, with complex transfers by van, small planes to Okavango Delta locations, and truck safaris to remote places all mixed into one trip. Nicolette Muller was our liaison for the planning and she always responded in a very timely manner to our thoughts, ideas and logistics planning between the United States and Africa. We particularly appreciated her “paring down” of our ambitious itinerary for both Botswana and Namibia given our time constraints!

All the staff and guides at the lodges and tented camps were professional, kind and paid much attention to the details. We can easily give a particular shout out to Previous Tsvigu, who patiently chauffeured and guided us through the history, animals and landscapes of his adopted country, Namibia. We had one particular experience where we were worn out after a long day’s drive and wanted to rest at the lodge, but Previous felt we needed to see the desert-adapted elephants in Damaraland. We knew that tracking down these animals was hit or miss, so we told him to go it alone, and come back to retrieve us if he found them. Sure enough, he raced out to the sight, found three elephants, and raced back to grab us for what turned out to be a lovely sighting of grazing elephants and a wonderful sundowner experience of the grasslands on the hood of our truck!

These kinds of attention to detail are what separates this travel company from the masses. They are smaller and truly care for their clients’ welfare and experience. The variety of experiences and things we requested (mokaro boat rides) are not always easy to find. Thanks again to Nature Travel Namibia which we can wholeheartedly recommend!

“Fantastic and professional travel company”
Stephanie Ranson – March 2018
From start to finish Nature Travel Namibia were fantastic, and we had an amazing holiday. As a family holiday with 2 young children our requirements were well thought out and NTN proposed an interesting age appropriate itinerary which would be enjoyable for all of us. We stayed at several different hotels / guest houses which were again, thought of with our children in mind, and each place added something to the enjoyment of travelling around the beautiful country. The suggestions of places to visit and added excursions were brilliant and again just added to the fabulous holiday, we spent several days in game reserves and seeing all the animals was a truly magical experience for all of us, not just the children!!
The specifics of the tour such as the vehicle hire, accommodations and pre booked extras / excursions came in voucher form which we were given on arrival at Windhoek, along with maps and driving instructions for each leg of the trip. Every individual aspect ran smoothly and everything we booked was ready and waiting for us as and when we arrived, this was fantastic as we didn’t need to worry and we knew that NTN had very professionally sorted everything ready for us prior to our trip.

Communication was excellent with revising and finalising our itinerary and we were so pleased about our holiday that we have just contacted NTN again about organising our next trip, and we will be repeat customers.

We could not fault Nature Travel Namibia in any way, and would highly recommend! An excellent, professional and very knowledgeable company!

Nicholas Cliffe – March 2018
Nature Travel dealt with our plans totally professionally from start to finish. All bookings for Kalahari, Okavango and the flights around the area went off like clockwork and their recommendations for lodges were exactly what we wanted.
The whole trip will stay in our memory forever and NT are very highly recommended, especially as booking direct for that area of Botswana is not straightforward.
“Very good services”
Vivian Choi – 9 February 2018
The staff of Nature Travel Namibia are efficient and friendly! They replied emails quickly and the arrangements are also good! They can tailor-made the itinerary based on your requests which is very flexible! Our guide, Holga is a very responsible & experienced tour guide, we had a very good time with Holga during our trip in Namibia!
“Another wonderful wildlife experience with Nature Travel Namibia!”
N&NM – October 2017
This was our fifth birding and wildlife trip with Nature Travel Namibia and once again we had a fantastic time.
We only had a few days in Namibia so we reached out to Nick who suggested a short customized trip for us; all within a few hours’ drive of Windhoek. The whole trip was perfectly organised and we saw all the endemic birds in the area! Nick has exceptional knowledge of the birds and mammals of Namibia, and is especially passionate about conservation in his country. We are already planning our next trip with Nature Travel Birding!
“Namibia is deserts, wildlife, landscapes, sea and amazing people, do not miss this jewel!”
Arancha – August 2017
Three of us spent two weeks traveling over Namibia, Botswana and ending in Vic Falls. Esmari put together a tailored-made programme with stays in the most iconic places from the Namib Desert, Naukluft Park, Swakopmund to Etosha, the Caprivi strip, the Okavango Delta and Chobe and ending in Victoria Falls. We loved her readiness to address our specific requests. The combination of landscapes, colors, wildlife and people was simply stunning. We had a great guide, Lucky Gaoeb who drove us around and helped us discover nature and the countries. Super professional and passionate about his country. He knows every animal and plant! Namib Desert is a must do, keep enough time to discover it and walk around. For wildlife, Etosha Park is a must but if you have time also visit Mahangu reserve were you will have a closeness to wildlife. You cannot miss the Okavango delta, and if you can do a helicopter ride to get an aerial view of this immensity of water. All lodges selected by Nature Travel were excellent. Particularly nice were the Gondwana Namib Desert Resort in Sesriem and Musharra Lodge in Etosha. All and all, highly recommendable! Do visit Namibia.
“Namibian tour designed just for you with great Namib desert and Etosha Game Reserve experiences!”
Beth – July 2017
We had a great 12 day trip through parts of Namibia. We were a family of 4 with a guide provided just for us.
We traveled in a comfortable vehicle from Windhoek into the Namib desert, to Swakopmund, then onto Etosha Game Reserve finishing with a great stop over at the Okinjima Afrikat Foundation to see some leopards and cheetahs.
Esmari was very helpful with arrangements at nature Travel Namibia and our guide Holger was very helpful, experienced and informative.
We were very pleased with the fabulous Namib desert experience, and also with the amount of beautiful African animals that we saw in Etosha National Park.
The accommodation all worked well- and particularly enjoyed staying at Okaukuejo Resort with the access to the water hole for animal viewing!
The Africat Foundation Okinjima was also a particular highlight with lovely rooms, food and experiences. We recommend 2 days there instead of only one.
Holger looked after us very well and we are very pleased with how it all went.
We definitely recommend this tour to other people.
“Perfect organization, from A to Z”
Patrick – June 2017
We spent 8 days in Namibia. The program was very well prepared and our driver/guide was extremely competent. Nothing to add but thank you very much for this extraordinary trip!
“Incredible experience with outstanding guide.”
Karen Woodward – June 2017
I’m an experienced traveler having been to 46 countries. This was my third trip to Africa where I’d visited 7 countries but not been to Namibia yet. I discovered Nature Travel Namibia through Safari Bookings and couldn’t be more pleased. One never knows quite what to expect when trying a new company. What a wonderful surprise this was. Nick Buys has an infectious love and knowledge of his country and wildlife. We made a last minute decision to travel. With such short notice, he was able to arrange for everything we wanted and was flexible as the trip progressed. Accommodations were superior with wonderful meals. We were on a safari trip, but my boyfriend is also a birder. Nick knows his birds and got me hooked on them too. All future trips to Africa will be with his company. I’ve recommended him to all my friends. I know he also leads birding trips elsewhere and we will definitely go with him.
“Excellent introduction to Namibia! Quality tour from start to finish.”
Bruce Davies – April 2017
Nature Travel Namibia provided an excellent introduction to the marvels of Namibia. The logistics were seamless, the trip itself was amazing, accommodations just right , our guide Kit was perfect , and I would go back with them anytime . Esmari, running their operation, who I have not met but have corresponded with before, during and after the trip, was professional, alert to specific needs, and a delight to deal with. My son, currently a Peace Corps volunteer in Comorous, met me in Windhoek for this trip. It was a trip of a lifetime and it could not have been any better.I recommend Nature Travel Namibia without reservation.